Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling

As before, I will keep this review/ movie comparison short. Here are the differences between book and movie:

  1. The night bus- very similar to the movie until the point where Harry lands at the Leaky Cauldron. At this point in the movie, we don’t understand (because unlike the book, it isn’t explained) that Harry is afraid that he will be kicked out of Hogwarts for underage wizardry. But when he lands almost at the Minister of Magic’s feet, he’s terrified he’s been caught, then filled with relief when Fudge says it’s nothing to worry about. The movie just makes the audience assume, where the book (obviously) explains in detail.
  2. The tiny detail left out in the movie- Ron and Scabbers making the Daily Profit, and how Sirius Black figured out Scabbers was Peter Pettigrew. Sirius asked to borrow the paper from Fudge on a routine Azkaban visit, which happened to have them on the front page.
  3. The details on how Harry learned about Sirius Black, and who else knew about their connection are very different in the book than the movie. Mr. and Mrs. Weasley were overheard talking about how Sirius was (allegedly) after Harry, and Mr. Weasley warned Harry, who doesn’t play stupid as he does in the movies. Malfoy knew why Black was in Azkaban, and what he did to Harry’s parents (allegedly), something not shown in the movies. Harry was with Ron and Hermione when he overhears about what Black (allegedly) did to Harry’s parents, hiding under the table without the invisibility cloak, and doesn’t learn about Sirius being his godfather. When he does learn that Sirius is his godfather, it’s after everything is explained as they are leaving the Shrieking Shack.
  4. Crookshanks involvement during and leading up to the night that Peter Pettigrew is revealed. Crookshanks helps and protects Black.
  5. The feisty and obnoxious painting of Sir Cadogan. He isn’t mentioned at all in the movies. And they didn’t include Black’s second attempt at getting into Gryffindor tower.
  6. The whole scene of fighting off Lupin after he changes into a werewolf, and Hermione howling to distract them- total Hollywood moment.
  7. Harry is much brighter than the movies make him out to be. He actually figures out that Dumbledore wants Hermione and him to save Buckbeak and Sirius.

Okay, I got a bit longer with this one than I intended. I did want to say that I remember this book being my favorite of the series, but after re-reading, I can’t remember why. It may be because the first time around (reading it at 13), I never saw the ending come as it did, so I probably loved the plot twist. But I also was a fan of the third movie as well, probably because despite the missing pieces, it really is a great interpretation of the book.

I also want to add that because I reread the Goblet of Fire early in the year, I’ll be skipping that book and moving right along to Order of the Phoenix. And because we are heading into the holidays, where I will be most definitely too busy to read (VACATION!), so this will be my last review of 2016. I hope my followers will stick with me into 2017, and if not, thank you for this past year. I’d have to say, my New Year’s resolution was accomplished!

Published by

Amanda

Books 📚 / Horses 🐎/ Blogging ⌚ / 🍁VT ➡ LEX 🏇 / Hufflepuff 💛/ Libra ♎ / BlubBlub ♣

Leave a Reply

